Projects Laboratories Team Areas of Interest

The Center for Intelligent Systems Research (CISR) is an interdisciplinary research group consisting of faculty, students, and engineers from the Departments of Electrical and Mechanical Engineering and Computer Science at the University of Idaho. CISR was founded in 1999 and is an approved research center of the Idaho State Board of Education. The center operates under the auspices of the Microelectronics Research and Communications Institute, one of several research institutes sanctioned by the university.

Director: Dean Edwards (208) 885-7229 dedwards@uidaho.edu
Webmaster: Karen Cassil (208) 885- 4114 karen@mrc.uidaho.edu
Mailing Address:
BEL Room W3-1
University of Idaho
PO BOX 441024
Moscow, Idaho 83844 - 1024

 

 

 

 

Projects
Control of Autonomous Log-Skidder Vehicle

Decentralized Control of Multiple AUV's

 

 

Laboratories
Acoustics and Vibrations
Communicatons
Control Systems


 

 

Team

Principal Investigator

Dean B. Edwards dedwards@uidaho.edu Mechanical Engineering

 

Professors

Michael J. Anderson anderson@uidaho.edu Mechanical Engineering

James F. Frenzel

jfrenzel@uidaho.edu Electrical and Computer Engineering

Michael O'Rourke

morourke@uidaho.edu Philosophy

Richard W. Wall

rwall@ece.uidaho.edu Electrical and Computer Engineering
Rick Wells rwells@mrc.uidaho.edu Electrical and Computer Engineering

 

Post Doctoral

John Canning canning@forestrobots.com Mechanical Engineering

 

Research Engineers

Geoff Beidler beid2126@uidaho.edu Electrical and Computer Engineering
Chris Reeder cjhedreeder@yahoo.com Mechanical Engineering
Tom Bean bean6188@uidaho.edu Mechanical Engineering

 

Students

Joe Coleman cole1243@uidaho.edu Philosophy
Troy Cuff cuff0679@uidaho.edu Electrical and Computer Engineering
Isaac Kodavaty koda5175@uidaho.edu Mechanical Engineering
Kaylani Merrill kmerrill@uidaho.edu Philosophy and Neuroscience
Andy Rajala raja7325@uidaho.edu Mechanical Engineering
Michael Santora sant8751@uidaho.edu Electrical and Computer Engineering
Jianqiang Zeng zeng3567@uidaho.edu Electrical and Computer Engineering
Yue Zhang zhan8610@uidaho.edu Electrical and Computer Engineering

 

Undergraduates

Nathan Bialke nathanb@uidaho.edu Computer Engineering and Mathematics
Austin Howard howa1465@uidaho.edu Mechanical Engineering
Jesse Kappmeyer kapp8988@uidaho.edu Mechanical Engineering

 

Past Students

Bradley Baker bake8285@uidaho.edu Mechanical Engineering
Geoff Beidler beid2126@uidaho.edu Electrical and Computer Engineering
Andy Cluff cluf6956@uidaho.edu

Mechanical Engineering

Thomas DuBuisson dubu0874@uidaho.edu Electrical and Computer Engineering
Sarah Huska temp1107@uidaho.edu Electrical and Computer Engineering
Akira Okamoto okam2217@uidaho.edu Electrical and Computer Engineering

Chris Reeder

chri8990@uidaho.edu Mechanical Engineering

Blaine Spotten

spot9438@uidaho.edu Mechanical Engineering
Doug Welling well1185@uidaho.edu Mechanical Engineering
Song Zhang
zhan4085@uidaho.edu Mechanical Engineering

 

Past Professors

Joseph J. Feeley jfeeley@uidaho.edu

Electrical and Computer Engineering

 

 

 

Because of the inherent generality of systems research, research projects of interest to CISR cover a broad spectrum of application and theoretical areas.  Some recent projects, and application and theoretical areas of interest are summarized below.


Recent projects

 

Application areas of interest

 

Theoretical areas of interest